It’s time to leave our Legacy

Our first blog comes from Nathan Sparling. Nathan Sparling is a former National Union of Students’ Disabled Students’ Representative, serving on the Disabled Students Committee between 2011 and 2012. He is currently co-ordinating the Disabled People for Independence group.

NathanSparling

Over four years ago I suffered a brutal attack that left me almost for dead, had it not been for the fact I hadn’t moved most of my kitchen utensils from my old flat – I probably wouldn’t even be able to write this article. I was subject to a random attack in my halls of residence by a gang of four who forced entry into my flat and assaulted me with golf clubs and a dog chain, among other things. Not long after this attack and the subsequent court appearances that led to jail sentences, my best friend Terri passed away in her sleep – Adult Sudden Death Syndrome.

Two very personal tragedies that have affected the rest of my life. I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder shortly after Terri’s death. I felt like it was unmanageable at first, medication, counselling, psychiatrists and self-help classes. It was overwhelming to think that my own brain was putting me through this.

People were told not to trust me because of my mental health problem. Friends distanced themselves and I learnt who my true friends were. Despite this, I’ve never been ashamed to call myself disabled.

Why have I gone into detail about my personal life? Some people don’t understand Mental Health issues as a disability. I get told that I don’t have a right to call myself disabled, despite the fact my mental health issue causes me severe problems in my day-to-day life. Yet I never let my disability get in the way.

I’m a positive person. I only look for the best in people, in situations and in life. It’s why I feel so strongly about Independence for Scotland. My disability gave me a positive outlook in life, to be aspirational. Independence for Scotland doesn’t mean any policy is set in stone, it doesn’t mean that we have guaranteed income streams – but it does mean that we can aspire to do our best and run our country how we choose.

80% of those affected by the Bedroom Tax are disabled, forced to give up their home because of Conservative Housing Policies of yesterday, and Conservative Welfare Policies of today. It is quite simply a form of social discrimination that should not be tolerated in our country.

The UK Government Welfare Reforms show why Independence for Scotland is the answer for Disabled People. Only with a Scottish Parliament with full responsibility for the people of Scotland can we ensure that such vicious and savage cuts against those most in need in our society never happen, guaranteed in a written constitution.

The aspirations of disabled people can be met in an Independent Scotland and we have a once in a lifetime chance to get involved with the debate. Disabled People have the chance to lead the debate within Disabled People for Independence. It is an open group that everyone can get involved in, everyone can share their aspirations and vision of an Independent Scotland and everyone can join together to say Yes to fairness, Yes to equality and Yes to an Independent Scotland.

I received and continue to receive a lot of support from our National Health Service. It’s been there when I needed help and most importantly it has been free and accessible at my point of need. I don’t want to risk losing such an asset in our society, because without our NHS and the staff that helped to support me through my worse times, I’m not sure where I’d be.

Disabled People for Independence was started to give Disabled People a platform to show their discontent at the unfairness of policies opposed by Scotland but imposed by Westminster. It’s a chance for people to give their personal stories about why they believe in Independence.

I’ve given my personal story. My aspirations to see equality enshrined in a written constitution, to never have to endure savage cuts to those in need and to resist any attempt to privatise the National Health Service.

I also want my newly born twin brothers to have their roots in an equal society, free of hatred. I know Scotland can be that country and it is our aspirations and vision that will make it so. It’s not just about our futures, but the futures of our siblings and our children. We can leave a legacy for the future, so get involved and help to shape the history of our nation.

This blog is open to any disabled person who wants to write about why they support Independence. You can get involved in Disabled People for Independence through email (disabledppl4indy@gmail.com) Facebook: Disabled People for Independence or on Twitter @DisabledPplIndy.

About disabledppl4indy

Disabled People for Independence is a group set up for Disabled People to support the Independence movement and the Yes Scotland Campaign. We'll be persuading disabled people to vote Yes for an Independent, Fair and Accessible Scotland.
This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s time to leave our Legacy

  1. Drew says:

    Absolutely touching piece of writing!
    Scotland’s disabled, poor and most vulnerable should not be left at the mercy and ideological attack by a government in London that they didn’t vote for!

  2. M.K. Hajdin says:

    Beautifully and eloquently expressed.

Leave a comment